MBVELEZ’S MAR [15-01]:A Prominent Change Inherited from my Seniors

Medical Anecdotal Report
Indexing Title: MBVELEZ’S MAR [15-01]
MAR Title: A Prominent Change Inherited from my Seniors
Date of Medical Observation: January, 2015
Tag: Learning an important change to a proper attitude from my seniors
Category: Professional/Ethical – Reinforcement
 
NARRATION:
 
A new beginning of another year came, and I was starting to feel another step in my life as a Surgery resident. The past two years that went through were indeed full of challenges that proved to be happy and full of fulfilling experiences that taught me so much. I was able to develop more skills and knowledge, as well as good attitude. I have learned even more from my consultants and my senior residents. One prominent manner I really noticed that changed in me, was the way I converse to agitated patients and/or their relatives in a calm approach. During the past years, I observed from two of my senior residents the tranquility and composure they had every time they talked to agitated patients. That time, I was really thinking how good they were at holding their temper, because if I was the one who handled those patients at that moment, I might have just exploded in anger and shouted at them. I could have been called upon by the higher-ups because of the way I had acted. I then realized that my seniors were always able to deal with different patient-related problems through their calm approach. It had me thinking that I should be able to inherit those kinds of demeanors. I experienced this during one of my duties at the emergency room. A 45-year-old inebriated patient was brought in due to a vehicular accident. He sustained abrasions on his left elbow and left knee. After noting that he was stable, we cleaned and dressed his wounds, and we requested for x-ray of the affected areas which did not reveal any fracture. Suddenly, two of his companions wrought with so much angst and conceitedness who just came in, got agitated and started shouting at us, complaining that we were not attending to their patient. I then introduced myself, and started conversing in a peaceful and composed manner in an attempt to mollify their rage. I explained well to them the patient’s condition and that we were able to address all the problems on the patient. As our conversation went along, they were then pacified as they listened to me and they finally understood that their patient was okay. He was then eventually discharged, with all of them asking for apology for their unpleasant behavior, and thanking us for the help we provided for their patient.
 
INSIGHT:

(Physical, Professional/Ethical, Psychosocial)
(Discovery, Stimulus, Reinforcement)
 
I spent a lot of memorable years in Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center, from clerkship to internship, up until my residency training. During those years of stay in this institution, I experienced a lot of things in this line of vocation, the field of medicine. As I grow up in this field, I get to be more mature and professional, especially in dealing with patients with different types of personality. I can still remember those times I had quarrels with patients, and other doctors always told me to call my senior, either an intern, or a resident that time, and they were able to deal with the problems calmly. Even in the previous MAR’s I have shared that was related to this, I was always advised of informing my senior residents during violent discussions with patients, since they were more mature and professional in that matter. Now, I realized that it’s already my time to be like my previous seniors whom I was referring to. I believe I have become a better doctor and person in general, because of my seniors’ influence on me. Being a doctor is no joke and nobody said it is easy. You have to deal with people from different walks of life no matter what kind of person you are. One has to have a great amount of maturity and professionalism in this kind of profession we’re in. When difficult situations arise, you have to be the bigger person who’s able to steer and take control in the smoothest possible manner. Yes, you will get pissed off and of course your patience will be put to test all the time, but I learned that being equally mad will not lead you anywhere. I have learned that having a clear mind by not letting emotions cloud my judgment is the best approach to any kind of patient-related trouble. Sometimes patients just need reassurance which you can provide by just appearing cool, calm, and collected. Patients need to believe that whatever happens to them, they can lean on to a clear-minded doctor. This is how trust is built between doctor and patients. This is what my seniors have passed on to me.
ROJoson’s Notes (17feb2):
Junior physicians should always emulate the good behaviors and competencies of their senior physicians.
This entry was posted in Emulating Senior Physicians. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

