GPVILLANUEVA’S MAR [15-05]: The Last of My Bucks

MEDICAL ANECDOTAL REPORT
Indexing Title: GPVILLANUEVA’S MAR [15-05]
MAR Title: The Last of My Bucks
Date of Medical Observation: June 2015
Tag: The reward of being a doctor
Category: Professional/ Ethical – Reinforcement
 
NARRATION:
As I was about to close my eyes to start my nap at around three in the morning, my phone suddenly rang. As a senior resident on duty, a phone call at this time would mean either a trauma patient needing immediate attention or a special case in the emergency room. I was half-asleep when I answered. It was my junior resident in the E.R., referring a 48-year-old male complaining of severe abdominal pain with history of peptic ulcer disease. I stood up and while asking for the status of patient, I went down to see the patient.
The patient had shallow breathing due to the pain from his abdomen and upon physical examination, his abdomen had involuntary guarding. It was indeed a surgical abdomen. We immediately started resuscitation and prepared the patient for operation. The relatives were not around as I was explaining the situation and as a usual scenario in our hospital, there was no available radiograph machine and also most of the needed laboratories. I requested only the available and important laboratories.
Since there is no available radiograph machine, the patient needs to be conducted to a private laboratory about three minutes away from our institution. I told the post-graduate intern to prepare the patient for conduction. Since there are no relatives around, I took the responsibility in funding the patient’s x-ray. As I opened my wallet, I remembered that earlier that day, I paid for my credits and other bills for the month and I was left with only one leaf of paper although enough for the chest radiograph to be done. Although it was the last of my bucks, I gave it to the intern to pay for the laboratory.
The patient returned from conduction with a radiograph result of pneumoperitoneum. Referral to my immediate senior and consultant was done and then I directed the patient to the operating room for exlploratory laparotomy. The other materials for operation were given by the other members of my team.
The operation became unremarkable and the patient was discharged after a few days not knowing the efforts that we gave beside his actual operation.
                                                                                             
INSIGHT
(Physical, Psychosocial, Professional/ Ethical)
(Discovery, Stimulus, Reinforcement)
 
What do we get in saving the life of others?
 
We are not given awards as to the number of patients we have saved, as we do it every day and encounter it very often it becomes routine that no one would actually notice. Even other staff of the hospital would just think of it as part our job.
 
In the government setting from where we are now, we are paid the same even some would stay in the hospital more than eight hours a day, work more than twenty-four hours on a busy duty and would sleep for a few hours then would be awaken by a patient asking for her abstract and papers to be signed.
ROJoson’s Notes (17feb13):
Compassion is demonstrated here regardless of the situation the residents are in.
This entry was posted in Compassion, GPVILLANUEVA’S MARs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

